Skip to main content

Touching Stories

Backing up hawkers with new stalls giving a fresh look at Graham Market after fire

It was early morning on the 15th of August. Stall owners at Graham Market, Central had already closed their shops. Just at this quiet moment, a fire broke out. Raging flames burned up a row of stalls, ripping through the quietness of the night.

Uncle Man, one of the stall owners who has sold fruit at Graham Market for 30 years, recalled the fire as his fear still lingered, “It was about 2 o’clock in the morning, the market’s night watchman phoned me to say my stall was on fire. I was stunned and then jumped in a taxi to rush back to the market, arriving only to see all the metal sheets covering my stall were burnt and bent. It looked like a bomb had just gone off. I couldn’t believe my eyes.”

The fire at Graham Market destroyed six stalls and damaged two others. Among them, three stalls belonged to Uncle Man from where he sold fruit. “When the fire turned my three stalls to dust, at that moment, I felt as if I had reached life’s bottom. My heart just felt so bad,” he sighed with a heavy heart. That night, he didn’t go home and instead stayed on the street waiting for the report from the police and fire services.

Ms Liu’s vegetable stall, which was standing next to Uncle Man’s at the market, was also wiped out by the fire. As soon as she was told the awful news, she immediately rushed back to Hong Kong from the mainland. By the time she got to the market, it was already late in the evening and the site had been cleaned up. “There was nothing there, except the burnt structure of my stall which had not been taken down. The things that I kept in the stall, like the weighing scales, the strainers, onions, garlic, were all turned into ashes,” Liu remembered.

URA photo 2A number of hawker stalls at Graham Market were severely damaged by the fire last August.

The century-old Graham Market, although located adjacent to the URA’s Peel Street/Grantham Street Development Scheme (H18), does not fall within the boundary of the redevelopment site. Nevertheless, members of the URA team who take part in the project have built up close relationships with the stalls owners for nearly 10 years. Glory Wong, the URA’s Planning and Design Manager, has been working side-by-side with the vendors there in preserving the community’s characteristics and revitalising the market. “The fire had a big impact on the stall owners. That morning, we immediately went to the site to visit the affected storekeepers. With their stores destroyed, they could not run their business. They were in despair and desperate need for immediate assistance,” Glory recalled.

To help vendors rebuild their livelihood, the URA decided to provide financial assistance to the affected owners to repair and rebuild their stalls as well as reconnect electricity, so that they could resume business as quick as possible. The next day, the URA along with relevant government departments including the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and the Central and Western District Office of the Home Affairs Department, met the affected stall owners to explain the application procedures for the financial assistance. The URA hoped that through such collaborative effort, the stall owners could quickly get through the difficult times.

The timely assistance from the URA has touched Uncle Man deeply since he no longer had to worry about the considerable expense on reconstructing his stalls. “I phoned Glory that morning after the fire, and he soon called back in the afternoon saying the URA could sponsor us to rebuild our stalls. He even gave me words of comfort that they would promptly look into ways to help us. At that moment I felt that there were people in this world who cared. In fact many people in the neighbourhood have offered help afterwards. There is kindness in this community,” Uncle Man said.

There was a period when the affected owners could operate at their original space temporarily, each with one big umbrella to shelter them from the hot sun. However as the temporary setups had to be dismantled every night, and since there was no electricity supply, Liu said she had to spend double effort and time on setting up and dismantling. As there was also no place for storage, she was forced to keep less vegetables, thereby affecting her business and income.

Having seen that there was no lighting at the temporary setups, which made stock handling difficult for the stall owners, the URA team made a thoughtful purchase of some portable lights for the owners. “We are closely monitoring the progress of re-establishing the stalls. We hope that by assisting owners in setting up new stalls as soon as possible, they could resume normal business quickly,” Glory said. By the end of October, the contractor had completed reconstructing the six severely damaged stalls. The other two slightly damaged stalls were also rebuilt in mid-November.

URA photo 3The six severely damaged stalls had been completed reconstructing by the end of October.

The “rebirth” of his stalls and business has brought Uncle Man much happiness. “Now I feel so much relieved! At last I don’t have to do setting up and dismantle each day, not to mention having to endure the sunlight and the rain. I can now keep my paper containers, weighing scales and strainers inside the stalls, making it much more convenient at opening and closing times.” With a broad smile, Ms Liu said, “Now that I can resume normal business, I feel so much happier! I can now order more popular stock like purple potatoes from the US, sweet potatoes from Japan, pumpkins from Australia and put them for sale.”

The URA hasn’t just rebuilt the hawker stalls, but also given them new looks by furbishing them with new colours of the hawkers’ choices. Some of them have their exterior painted in dark green while the interior are in blue green. Other stalls are coated with yellow paint making refreshing new looks. There are other ways to enliven the market too, for example by installing signboards, price tags and patterned stickers tailor-made for each stall to highlight their features and boost their attractiveness.

URA photo 1The URA has given the hawker stalls new looks by furbishing them with tailor-made decorations to highlight their features.​

Uncle Man has a fondness for ‘green’, thinking it would go very well with the myriad colours of his fresh fruit, alongside the brand new “Man Kee Fruit” signboard which has a cartoon image of himself against a background drawing of bright yellow pitahayas. Ms Liu was also excited about her new stalls newly decorated in her favourite colour of yellow, “It is really eye-catching, and it also makes people feel happy. There’s vitality in yellow just like my pleasant personality.”

URA photo 4Signboards and patterned stickers tailor-made for the stalls help highlight their features and boost their attractiveness.

URA photo 5Standing in front of her new stall decorated in yellow, Ms Liu says the vitality and cheerfulness of the colour resemble her pleasant personality.

Apart from splashing colours to the new stalls, the URA went a bit further on the safety front. “We have installed smoke alarm sensors in the stalls and taught each owner how to use. We hope to improve the safety of hawker stalls and raise the fire awareness of the owners,” said Glory.

To Uncle Man, it was really a pleasant and touching surprise that the URA team has gone the extra mile to do up the new stalls and even add fire safety facilities. “After my stalls were destroyed by the fire, I was just bewildered. I even lost a few pounds in weight due to the worry. But in the last two months, with the care from and actions taken by the URA, I felt entirely at ease. The team had paid close attention to restoring the new stalls, and was always concerned about us throughout the process. I just feel so blessed,” Uncle Man said with a warm smile.

跳到主要内容

细味人情

火后同行  嘉咸市集「重生」添新姿

8月15日凌晨,在百年历史的中环嘉咸街市集,档贩已收档歇息,惟一场突如其来的火警,令一列露天排档陷入火海,熊熊火焰划破市集寂静的夜空。在嘉咸街经营水果生意约30年的文叔,回想起当晚火警仍犹有余悸:「记得是半夜两点,市集的看更打电话跟我说摊档失火,我即时感到愕然,于是立刻『飞的』赶来现场,看见整个铁皮摊档烧到弯曲变形,好似被轰炸过一样,自己都不敢相信眼前发生的事情。」

今次嘉咸街市集的火警中,共有六个摊档被大火烧毁、两个受到破坏,其中三个便是文叔的水果摊档。文叔慨叹,看见被烧毁的摊档如同一片废墟,心里百般滋味,「一把火将三个摊档烧成灰烬,当刻觉得人生好似跌到谷底,非常『心噏』。」当晚文叔没有回家,在现场附近静候警方及消防的消息交代。文叔的「邻居」、在市集经营两个蔬菜档的花姐,其摊档亦在今次大火中付诸一炬。花姐忆述,火警在凌晨发生时,她正在内地探亲,她得悉市集火警已立即赶回来,到达市集已是晚上,火警现场已经清理,「我来到看见空荡荡,只剩下烧焦了的摊档支架未清拆。我存放在摊档的物品,例如秤磅、筲箕、洋葱、蒜头等,全部烧清光。」

URA photo 2在八月的火警中,嘉咸市集不少摊档被波及,损毁严重

嘉咸街市集毗邻市建局卑利街/嘉咸街重建项目(H18),虽然不属于项目范围,但市建局多年来一直与市集的摊档及商户保持友好睦邻关系。参与发展H18项目的市建局规划及设计经理黄家伟,在协助推动嘉咸市集保育活化的工作上,与档贩并肩同行接近10年,建立了深厚情谊,他坦言:「虽然露天摊档位于H18项目的范围外,但我们理解到这场火警对档贩影响好大,所以我们随即在当天早上到场,探望受影响的档主。我们了解到他们因摊档被烧毁而影响日常营业,感到很仿徨,需要急切支援。」

为协助受影响的摊档尽快恢复营业,市建局在火警后,同日便决定为有关档主提供紧急财政支援,资助他们维修或重建摊档,以及重新接驳电力供应。于火警翌日,市建局亦联同相关政府部门,包括食物环境卫生署、中西区民政事务处,与受影响的档贩会面,讲解有关资助和申请手续,期望通过多方协作,能够尽快协助档贩度过难关。

文叔坦言,对档贩来说,重置新摊档的费用不菲,但市建局团队迅速伸出援手,让他感到窝心,「火警当日早上,我打电话给黄生,到下午他就回复指可资助我们重置新摊档,当时他更安慰我说不用担心,定会尽快想办法协助我们解决困难。当刻我真的感受到人间有情;而那几天,就连街坊行过,都问我们有无地方需要帮忙,这个社会是有人情味的。」

在重建摊档期间,受影响的档主可在原地摆设临时摊档继续营业,但只靠一把太阳伞遮荫,每天朝行晚拆,亦没有电力供应,日常营业多有不便。花姐说,在临时摊档开档和收档都较往常花多一倍时间,执货亦十分吃力,因此她惟有减少入货量,由于售卖的蔬菜款式大减一半,生意收入亦受影响,「以往我卖十多款蕃薯、数款南瓜,现在没有摊档存货,所以我都不敢大手入货。」

黄家伟说,看到这些临时摊档没有电灯照明,入夜后档主执货时十分不便,所以市建局团队特别购买一些便携式的大光灯,给有需要的档主使用,「同时我们一直紧密跟进新摊档的重置进度,期望协助档主尽快安装新摊档,可以尽早恢复正常营业。」承办商已于10月底,先为六个被严重焚毁的摊档完成重置,以及重新接驳电力供应装置,让档主随即在新摊档恢复营业,另外两个受轻微破坏的摊档,亦会于11月中重置。

URA photo 3六个被严重焚毁的摊档已于10月底完成重置

看见摊档「重生」,文叔说:「现在感觉安心多了!终于不用朝行晚拆、日晒雨淋,用来盛载水果的纸兜、秤磅、筲箕等搵食『架生』,可以重新存放在摊档内,开档和收档方便得多。」花姐亦笑言:「现在可以回复正常营业,整个人都开心了!我可以重新买些美国紫薯、日本蕃薯、澳洲南瓜等不同款式的靓货返来卖。」

在新摊档的选色上,市建局团队亦与档主沟通,透过为新摊档髹上新色彩,加强整个嘉咸市集的特色,其中部分新摊档是深绿色外壳配衬青色内笼;有摊档则换上黄色「新衣」,外观变得更鲜明。团队更花心思为新摊档「扮靓」,按照每个摊档的特色,特别设计充满个性的招牌、价钱牌、图案贴纸装饰档身,大大提升了新摊档的「魅力」。

URA photo 1市建局团队按照各摊档的特色,花心思为新摊档「扮靓」

文叔钟情绿色,他说可以衬托出色彩缤纷的新鲜水果。全新的「文记生果」招牌亦用上文叔的卡通头像配以鲜黄色的麒麟果图案衬底。花姐的新摊档则是万绿丛中一点「黄」,她笑言自己喜欢独特的色彩,「黄色好显眼,亦带给人开心、充满朝气的感觉,跟我个人开朗的性格一样。」

URA photo 4特别设计的招牌和图案贴纸,为摊档增添个性和吸引力

URA photo 5为新摊档选了黄色的花姐说,「黄色给人开心、充满朝气的感觉,跟我个人开朗的性格一样。」

除了在新摊档的用色上增添新意,黄家伟说:「我们更额外为摊档加装烟雾感应器,并逐一向档主讲解用法,期望进一步提升露天摊档的安全设备及档贩的防火意识。」

文叔坦言,原以为摊档只是按旧貌重置,没想过市建局团队会额外美化新摊档、加装防火安全设备,令人感到惊喜、贴心,「自大火烧毁摊档后,我变得六神无主,更忧心到整个人消瘦了几磅,但这两个多月来市建局同事的关心和行动,令我非常满意。特别是他们好着紧跟进更换新摊档的情况,过程中亦不断慰问我们,真的令人心都甜了!」