Select Other Project
186-190 Queen's Road East
Project Site Information
|Location:||186-190 Queen’s Road East, Wan Chai （part of the Lee Tung Street / McGregor Street redevelopment project）|
|Site Area:||About 180 square meter|
|No. of buildings:||3 shophouses|
|Antiquities Authority Grading||Grade 3 Historic Building|
The 3 buildings are being preserved for adaptive reuse as part of the URA's Redevelopment Project at Lee Tung Street (H15)
Anticipated to be completed by 2015
- The three bays of verandah type tenement buildings form a continuous façade verandah facing Queen's Road East.
- The buildings lie on land reclaimed before 1887.
- The buildings were identified by Antiquities and Monuments Office (AMO) as Grade III Historical Buildings.
- The 3 pre-war residential blocks are unique Guangzhou-styled "Tong Lau", that were occupied exclusively by Chinese and predominantly seen all over southern Chinese cities and towns in the nineteen centuries.
- The shophouse's existence was a culmination of a series of historic forces from economic development of Hong Kong, Second World War as well as the influx of Chinese migrants to Hong Kong.
- The shophouses were a mixture of Chinese and Western architectural features. They were built in contiguous blocks in elongated layout and characterised by their narrow frontage. The shophouses have 4 storeys with verandahs facing Queen's Road East.
- Every unit is about 450 - 700 square feet with high ceiling and French windows to the verandahs. Light wells are located between the living space and the kitchen at the back.
- The shophouses did not have toilet provisions. The "nightsoil" from the pail latrine was collected by government scavengers at night.
- Ground floor was devoted to family business whereas upper levels were for residential purpose.