Skip to main content

Heritage Preservation & Revitalisation

Central Market

Location
80 Des Voeux Road Central, Central
Completion year
1939
Antiquities Authority Grading
Grade 3 Historic Building
Area
About 4,153 sq.m.
Facade facing Queens Road Central
Facade facing Queens Road Central
Design of Façade Facing Des Voeux Road Central
Design of Façade Facing Des Voeux Road Central
Artist Impression of Open Space Facing Queen’s Road Central
Artist Impression of Open Space Facing Queen’s Road Central
Artist Impression of Open Space at Atrium
Artist Impression of Open Space at Atrium
History of Central Market
History of Central Market

Project Background


Central Market Revitalisation Project is a response to the Chief Executive's Policy Address in 2009 that the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) was tasked to revitalise the Central Market under the new initiative of "Conserving Central".

A Community Advisory Committee was set up to conduct an extensive public engagement exercise from 2009 to 2011 to collect views and gauge public aspirations on the future use and operation of the revitalised Central Market building.  In 2015, the URA announced that it would adopt a simplified version of design to preserve the old building. The plan was later approved by the Town Planning Board (TPB) in March 2016. Subsequently, the General Building Plan was approved by Buildings Department in November 2016.

The Project will provide a total floor area of about 12,000 square metres, including the roof and other ancillary facilities, for affordable cultural and retail facilities.  An open space of 1,000 square metres will be provided at the existing atrium and entrance plaza facing Queen's Road Central, while the external walls on the ground floor facing Jubilee Street and Queen Victoria Street will be opened up to enhance accessibility and connectivity.  The new façade facing Des Voeux Road Central will also be re-instated to enhance visual permeability of the building.

An Ad-hoc committee was set up in January 2016 under the URA Board to take forward the implementation of the project and its future management and operation in accordance with the guiding principles, in particular in connection with the provision of affordable cultural and retail uses, which were formulated by the former Community Advisory Committee as a result of the three-year extensive public engagement exercise. 

In March 2017, the Chief Executive-in-Council approved to grant the site to URA for 21 years by way of private treaty for the revitalisation of the building and its future operation.

Subject to obtaining necessary approvals from relevant Government departments, the URA targets to start relevant building works in the third quarter of 2017 and complete the project by 2021/22.

The URA will keep the Central and Western District Council and relevant stakeholders informed of the progress of the project.

Project Update


The Government handed over the Site to URA on 10 Oct 2017 for commencement of revitalization works. Hoardings will be constructed around the building and inside the pedestrian passageway at 2/F. The pedestrian passageway at 2/F will be maintained for public use during construction period.

The public can view the details of the Project and latest progess at www.centralmarket.hk.

Back

跳到主要内容

保育活化

中环街市

地点
中环德辅道中80号
建成年份
1939
古物谘询委员会评级
三级历史建筑物
面积
大约4,153 平方米
现时总楼面面积
大約4,153 平方米
面向皇后大道中的外墙
面向皇后大道中的外墙
面向德辅道中的外墙设计
面向德辅道中的外墙设计
面向皇后大道中的入口广场构想图
面向皇后大道中的入口广场构想图
中庭休憩空间构想图
中庭休憩空间构想图
昔日的中环街市
昔日的中环街市

项目背景


中环街市活化项目是回应行政长官2009年施政报告内委托市建局进行活化中环街市大樓的政策纲領,作为政府保育中环的其中一项重点工作。

市建局其后成立社区谘询委员会,於2009 至2011年间就活化后中环街市大楼的用途和营运方向进行广泛社区谘询,收集公众意见和了解他们的期望。市建局在2015年公布以简约的设计方案保育活化中环街市大楼,设计方案随后於2016年3月获城市规划委员会(城规会)批准;而建筑图则亦於同年11月获得屋宇署批准。

项目将提供约12,000平方米连天台及其他配套设施面积在内的总楼面面积,提供大众化文化和零售设施。根据城规会已核准的方案,项目会在现时中庭位置及面向皇后大道中的入口广场提供1,000平方米的休憩空间,而面向租庇利街及域多利皇后街的地面外墙亦将改动及打通,以加强街市大楼的可达和联系性。另外,市建局亦会为面向德辅道中的立面进行修复翻新,新立面设计将提高大楼的视觉通透性。

於2016年1 月由市建局董事会成立的专责委员会,将会根据社区谘询委员会从为期3年的广泛社区谘询所得到的意见而制定的指引,推行中环街市活化项目及其营运管理工作,尤其在为市民提供大众化文化和零售设施方面。

於2017年3月,行政长官会同行政会议原则上同意将前中环街市用地,以私人协约方式批予市建局,为期21年,以便市建局中环街市大楼进行保育活化工作及其日后的营运。

政府於2017年10月10日正式将中环街市交予市建局进行活化工程。视乎从相关政府部门取得各项许可的进度,市建局预计於2021/22年完成工程。

市建局会就项目的进度,定期向中西区区议会和相关持份者汇报。

最新进展


市民可透过 www.centralmarket.hk 浏览项目详情及最新进度。

 

返回