Skip to main content
Press Releases

URA welcomes appointments to the Board

The Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA), Mr Victor So Hing-woh, today (Friday) welcomed the appointment of four new non-executive directors (non-official) and re-appointment of four non-executive directors (non-official) to the URA Board by the Government.

The four newly-appointed non-executive directors are Legislative Council members Alice Mak Mei-kuen and Wu Chi-wai, Dr Gregg Li and Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung. Legislative Council member Dennis Kwok Wing-hang, Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun, Mr Daniel Lam Chun and Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi have also been re-appointed as non-executive directors of the URA Board.

"On behalf of the Board and management of the URA, I would like to extend our warmest welcome to the newly-appointed and re-appointed members and look forward to working closely together.

"URA Board members come from different sectors of the community. Not only do they have rich experience in public service and professional knowledge, they have also shown great dedication to serving the community. Their involvement and participation will enhance the representativeness of the URA Board and help the Authority live up to the challenges ahead.

"We look forward to working as a team with our stakeholders in the community to take forward our initiatives under the prevailing Urban Renewal Strategy and make sterling contributions toward urban renewal in Hong Kong," said Mr So.

On behalf of the Board, Mr So also expressed his most sincere appreciation to four retiring members, including Legislative Council members James To Kun-sun and Wong Kwok-kin, Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen and Dr John Wong Yee-him, for their many valuable contributions to the URA as well as to urban regeneration in Hong Kong as a whole.