Skip to main content
Press Releases

URA welcomes appointments to the Board

The Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA), Mr Victor So Hing-woh, today (Thursday) welcomed the appointment of a new non-executive director (non-official) Mr Evan Au Yang Chi-chun, and the re-appointment of two non-executive directors (non-official) Dr Gregg Li Ka-lok and Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung, to the URA Board by the Government for a term of three years, with effect from 1 December 2017.

“On behalf of the Board of the URA, I would like to extend our warmest welcome to the newly-appointed and re-appointed members.  Together with the Management, we look forward to working together as a team to take urban renewal to new dimensions,” said Mr So.

“The URA Board members come from different professions and sectors in the community with extensive experience and expertise. Their involvement and participation will certainly enhance the representativeness of the URA Board, and make profound contribution in advancing urban regeneration in Hong Kong.”

On behalf of the URA Board, Mr So also expressed his most sincere appreciation to the retiring Board member, Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi, for his wise counsel and guidance to the URA Board over the years.  Mr Mak has contributed invaluable insights and ideas through proactive engagement in both Committee affairs and URA’s community activities.  He has served as the Chairman of the Land, Rehousing and Compensation Committee, member of the Finance Committee and Human Resources and Remuneration Committee of the URA Board, and the Chairman of the Yau Tsim Mong District Advisory Committee during his tenure.